Facebook is a free social network service that is used by people of all ages. It has become extremely popular as it makes it easy for anyone to connect and share photos, comments, video and more with family and friends online. For many, having a Facebook account is now an expected part of being online, much like having your own email address. As of the summer of 2015, Facebook is the world’s largest social network, with more than 1 billion users worldwide.

Facebook has a specific help section created for teens that can be found here.
There is also a specific help section created for parents that can be found here.

Facebook allows you to send messages and post status updates to keep in touch with your friends and family. You can also share different types of content such as photos, links, and more. But sharing something on Facebook is a bit different from other types of online communication. Unlike email or instant messaging, which are relatively private, the things you share on Facebook are more public, which means they’ll usually be seen by lots of other people.

While Facebook offers privacy tools to help you limit who can see the things you share, it’s important to understand that Facebook is designed to be more open and social than traditional communication tools. To learn more about sharing and controlling your privacy settings, see Understanding Facebook Privacy and Adjusting Your Privacy Settings.

  • Do not post information about where you go to school, your age, your name, or any other identifying information.
  • Make use of Facebook’s privacy features.
  • Make sure your daughter always heed the “school or family rule.” What would the principal or grandma say if she saw this post, photo or video?

Have you daughter ask herself these questions before posting:

  • What does my post say about me? How might I appear to someone who doesn’t know me?
  • Could this post or photo embarrass me or anyone in it, now or a few years from now.
  • Can other people be recognized in this photo? Have I asked their permission before posting this online?

Your media represents you. That probably seems obvious, but remember it can keep on representing you well into the future, because content posted online or with phones is pretty impossible to take back. So it’s a good idea to think about how what you post now will reflect on you down the line. If you think it might hurt a job prospect, damage a relationship or upset your grandmother, consider not sharing it.

Manage your visibility.

Consider the whole image. What’s in the background of a photo or video could indicate where it was taken or what the people in it were doing at the time. Is that information you want to convey?

Your media could show up anywhere. Facebook videos can be embedded in any website, and it’s important to remember that anything digital can be copied and shared by others. So even if you limit the audience, be careful not to share anything that could be a problem if someone were to pass it around.

Use a strong password, and don’t share it. This gives you some control over how you’re represented in social media because other people won’t be able to use your password to impersonate you.

You can delete your posts. If you ever want to delete one of your own pictures or videos, just click on the three dots in the lower right corner under it (see screenshot) and select Delete. That menu also lets you share or email your post. But if you’re sharing media on Facebook, Twitter or other services, deleting from Instagram doesn’t delete them elsewhere.

Be picky about who you share with. Instead of sharing a video with all your followers, you can select who can see it. You can easily set personal videos to “private” or “unlisted” and share a video’s URL with select people.

Flag problematic comments. You can report other people’s inappropriate photos, videos or comments.

Privacy and safety settings: YouTube has a range of tools and settings help users manage their experience on the site. To learn more about the the resources that are available to your daughter please visit the privacy and safety settings page.

If an account is established with the intent of bullying or harassing another person or if a photo or comment is intended to bully or harass someone, please report it.

Once you’ve reported the abuse, consider blocking the person.

Learn how to report other accounts or posts.

Notification You’ll receive a notification in an email message and on your Home page whenever someone interacts with you on Facebook. For example, you’ll be notified when someone adds you as a friend, likes or comments on something you’ve shared, or sends you a private message.

Status Update One of the most common things people share on Facebook are status updates—short, text-based posts that your friends can see and comment on. You can also post other things, like photos, videos, links, and more. Your friends will be able to see your posts on their News feeds, and the things you share will also be posted to your Timeline.

Timeline Also known as your profile page, the Timeline is where You’ll share information about yourself on Facebook. For example, it’s where You’ll post your profile picture, share basic information about yourself, and more. Whenever you share something on Facebook, it will appear on your Timeline, as well as your friends’ News Feeds

Friend You can add people you know as friendson Facebook. Your friends will see the things you share, such as status updates or photos. Friends will also be able to view your profile information and share things on your Timeline.

Like Whenever your friends share something on Facebook, you can choose to like the post. This is just a simple way of showing your friends that you enjoyed what they shared. You can also like the Facebook Page for certain businesses and organizations to receive updates about them in your News Feed.

Tag Friends can tag you in photos and posts they share on Facebook. Posts you’re tagged in will appear on your Timeline.

Comment Whenever your friends share on Facebook, you can leave a comment about their posts.

News Feed The News feed is a stream of updates from your friends and any Facebook Pages you follow. This is where You’ll probably spend most of your time on Facebook, since it’s where you can view and comment on what’s happening with all of your friends.

Respect other people’s privacy. If someone else is in a video you post, make sure that person’s OK with your sharing or tagging them in it.


Print this article